FHS Leads Arkansas in National Merit Semifinalists

Fayetteville High School leads the state in the number of National Merit Semifinalists with eighteen, according to a news release by the National Merit Scholarship Program. These seniors join approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

The FHS Semifinalists are: Jozie Crouch, Cora Ferguson, Shirshak Gautam, Fletcher Hall, Carson Haller, Jackson Heck, Albert Ko, Sam Lefforge, Austin Liu, Foster Matlock, Kexin Meng, Ethan Peters, Kyrie Potter, Sheil Sharma, Issac Smith, Spencer Walker, Brendan Wolf, and Grayson Young.

“I am very happy for these outstanding seniors,” said Dr. John L Colbert, Superintendent of Schools. “FHS is a perennial leader in Arkansas in the number of Semifinalists, and these students helped to carry on a great tradition. I want to extend a special thanks to their parents and their teachers for preparing them so well.”

Fayetteville High School Principal Dr. Jay Dostal added his congratulations. “In getting to know these seniors, I was very impressed by not just their intelligence but by their initiative and drive. They made sacrifices and pushed themselves to attain this level of academic achievement. I expect big things from each of them in college and in their careers.”

The Semifinalists will have the opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. Over 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.